Basic Detail Renort

eury P. Bur derks of & Weathort Harrfield lown do Ecticut at about swear has the 67 bern said to ha RECE tor ca 0 ational and state Laid town acellin delivere m my analody Uy ·M as moderato Mort: district of sail hlue the delivered into my "netody was not sealed, and the box remained unsealed until about 9 oclock and of Hoo. a.D. 1888. when the sar Such came into the office 1 and in www. Clark the Edland Said bal ollowing word ch Moderalo Vov. 6 - 1888 Henry RoBurn

Title Sworn Statement and Tally Sheet for Westport Election, 1888

Date 1888 November 6

Basic Detail Report

Primary Maker Henry Penfield Burr

Medium Paper, ink

Description Handwritten manuscript documents comprising a (a) sworn statement by Henry P. Burr, Clerk of Westport, and a (b) tally sheet for the election held in Westport, Connecticut on November 6, 1888. (a) Henry P. Burr, Clerk of Wesport, certifies that at 8:30 PM on November 6, 1888 that the ballot box holding ballots for the national and state elections was delivered to him by William J. Finch, Moderator of the polling district in Westport. Burr received the ballot box unsealed, and it remained unsealed until 9:00 AM on November 7, 1888, at which time Finch sealed and endorsed the ballot box in front of Burr. (b) Handwritten copy of the tally sheet for the election held in Westport on November 6, 1888. The documents lists the candidates for each position and how many votes they received. For Presidential Electors: Frank W. Cheney, J. Howard Whittemore, Henry R. Kibbe, Edward F. Jones, William A. Slater, William C. Harding, Alfred E. Burr, Edward B. Manning, Cyrus H. Pendleton, Henry G. Hubbard, Benjamin Lucas, George M. Cole, Henry D. Smith, Samuel B. Forbes, DeWitt C. Pond, Phineas M. Augur, Herbert J. Crocker, Benjamin H. Kidder, Benjamin C. Baker, Adolph Stirn, Thomas Simmons, Peter Lynch, Charles Corning, and Joseph N. Belden. For Governor: Morgan G. Bulkeley, Luzon B. Morris, Hiram Camp, and Alfred W. Andrews. For Lieutenant Governor: Samuel E. Merwin, Jonathan S. Kirkham, Nathan Babcock, and Henry G. Soper. For Secretary: R. Jay Walsh, Henry A. Bishop, Theodore L. Pease, and James C. Vallette. For Treasurer: E. Stevens Henry, James G. Martin, George W. Kies, and

Basic Detail Report

Charles F. White. For Compotroller: Jonathan B. Wright, Nicholas Staub, Edward

Manchester, and Meiczyslas J. Brzezinski. For Member of Congress: Frederick

Miles, Edward W. Seymour, and Elisha L. Ellis. For Senator: William B. Hubbell,

Lyman S. Catlin, and Wetford S. Bailey. For Judge of Probate: Silas B. Sherwood,

Rufus Wakeman, and B. Sherwood.

Dimensions Primary Dimensions (a, overall height x width): 12 1/2 imes 8in. (31.8 imes

20.3cm) Primary Dimensions (b, overall height x width, unfolded): $25 \times 8in$. (63.5

× 20.3cm)