

Title Voting machine, Hartford

Date 1912

Primary Maker Unknown

Medium Photography; gelatin silver print on paper

Description Close-up of voting machine for Hartford mayoral election.

Candidates names are indicated beside levers. Parties listed include Democratic,

Republican, Socialist, Socialist Labor and Prohibition. Candidates include: For

mayor: Thomas J. Spellacy (D), Louis R. Cheney (R), Robert A. McJunkin (S),

Charles F. Roberts (SL), Benjamin F.Beardsley (P). For Treasurer: Charles H.

Slocum (D, R), James J. McIntyre (S), Albert H. Gierginsky (SL), Myron T. Smith

(P). For Collector: Robert D. Chapin (D), Otis J. Hart (R), Henry P. McMahon (S),

August Rein (SL), William F. Hilton (P). For Controller: Frederic B. Wright (D),

Basic Detail Report

Charles H. Robins (R), John Scanlon (S), William Mentze (SL), Willard C. Gompf (P). For City Marshal: Thomas P. Birmingham (D), Hart Talcott (R), Barney Marcus (S), Frederick Lechner (SL). For Town Clerk: Henry F. Smith (D, R), Martin J. Connolly (S), Frederick Fellermann (SL), Oscar B. Purinton (P). For Registrar of Voters: William Cotter (D), Edward S. Young (R), Sheridan A. Morse (S), Frank Warounig (SL), Leslie P. Abbe (P). For Selectmen (vote for any three): Sidney L. Bacharach (D), John F. Morgan (D), Joseph B. LaCava (D), Halsey B. Philbrick (R), William J. Tolhurst (R), Louis Elsner (R), Joseph Haaser (S), John Rubenbauer (S), William J. Dooley (S), Henry Kuehn (SL), Lucius W. Bartlett (P), Elmer B. Abbey (P), John A. Akerlind (P). For grand jurors (vote for any three): John J. Coleman (D), Henry J. Calnan (D), Jarvis McAlpine Johnson (D), Morris Older (R), John W. Joy (R), James W. Knox (R). For school visitors (vote for any two): John L. Purcell (D), James B. Berry (D), John J. Peard (R), Edward W. Hooker (R). Sophie Bienstock (S), Lillian Edwards (S), James B. Williams (SL), Frank Schwabe (SL), Edward P. Anderson (P), Capitola H. Spencer (P). For high school committee (vote for any three): James H. Naylor (D), Richard J. Kinsella (D), George Zunner (D), Archibald A. Welsh (R), John J. McCook (R), William H. Scoville (R), Lena Weinstein(S), Esther Suisman (S), Petra N. Olafsson (S), Moe Schultheiss (SL), Frank Knotek (SL), Frederick Schwarz (SL), Byron L. Downing (P), Almira D. Cross (P), Malina G.Purinton (P). Other issues include: "Constitutional amendment concerning powers and duties of the Lieutenant Governor," "Constitutional amendment concerning date of adjournment of the General Assembly," "Appropriation of \$1,100,000 for Municipal Building," "Appropriation of \$25,000"

Basic Detail Report

for new police signal system," "Appropriation of \$15,000 for the purchase of the Kinsella & Smith property," "Appropriation of \$50,000 for Gully Brook Conduit,"

"Appropriation of \$50,000 for Pumping Station," "Appropriation of \$450,000 for erection of new high school."

Dimensions Primary Dimensions (overall height x width): 7 $1/2 \times 9 \times 13/16$ in. (19 x 25cm)