Basic Detail Report

Title Massachusetts

Date after 1812

Primary Maker Unknown

Medium Drawing; black ink and watercolor on paper, mounted on cardboard Description Map of Massachusetts, with Vermont and New Hampshire to the north, the Massachusetts Bay to the east, Connecticut and Rhode Island to the south, and New York to the west. The state is divided into 11 counties (Berkshire, Franklin, Hampshire, Hampden, Worcester, Essex, Middlesex, Norfolk, Plymouth, Bristol and Barnstable), with the names of towns appearing in their rough geographic locations. The only physical feature shown is elevation, conveyed with shading.

Dimensions Primary Dimensions (image height x width): $6\,1/8\,x\,7\,7/8$ in. (15.6 x 20cm) Sheet (height x width): $6\,5/8\,x\,8\,3/8$ in. (16.8 x 21.3cm) Mount (height x width): $6\,5/8\,x\,8\,3/8$ in. (16.8 x 21.3cm)