Skip navigation
Wethersfield: The Old Village
1974
Lithography; brown printer's ink on wove paper
Primary Dimensions (image height x width): 30 x 30 1/4in. (76.2 x 76.8cm) Sheet (height x width): 31 x 31in. (78.7 x 78.7cm)
Credit Line: Museum purchase
Gallery Copy: The Wethersflield Historical Society commissioned local artist Philip Lohman to create this charming pictorial map of their town's early buildings in the early 1970s. Several of those structures--the Cove Warehouse, the Hurlbut Dunhm House, and the James Francis House--are now owned and operated by the Historical Society. The Keeney Memorial Cultural Center, which today serves as the Society's headquarters, does not appear on the map. Erected in 1893 to serve as a public high school, the building was apparently too late to be considered a part of the "Old Village" in 1974, when this map was published.
Description: Map of the village of Wethersfield, Connecticut, depicting the mid-twentieth century appearance of the village, with the buildings and street system as they looked pre-1840. 116 buildings are shown and numbered, with each number corresponding to a list containing information about the original owner, date of construction, and the street on which the building was located. Natural features include the Wethersfield Cove and the Connecticut River, both depicted at the top. At the bottom is historical information about Wethersfield and descriptive information about the map.
Cartographic Note: No scale
Inscription: Recto, top left, printed in black ink: "Phil Lohman made this" Bottom right corner, printed in black ink: "© 1974 Wethersfield Historical Society, Inc."
Object Number: 1981.144.1
Not Currently on View
Send to a Friend