Skip navigation
Voting Districts, City of Hartford
Publisher:Published by the Registrars of Voters (Hartford, Conn.) , American
Lithography; black printer's ink on wove paper
Primary Dimensions (image height x width): 32 x 23in. (81.3 x 58.4cm) Sheet (height x width): 33 x 24in. (83.8 x 61cm)
Credit Line: Connecticut Historical Society collection
Gallery Copy: "Voting District" was a term adopted in the 1980s as the Federal Government began planning for the 1990 Census. It was meant to be a generic term, replacing earlier terms such as polling district, election district, precinct, and ward. Some of these earlier names appear on earlier Connecticut maps. The term was already in wide use in Connecticut, when this map of Hartford's voting districts was issued. In 1982, the number of voting districts in Hartford was reduced from thirty-two to twenty-three, creating great confusion during the fall election, with "hundreds of confused Hartford voters" roaming the streets from one polling place to another because they were unsure where to vote. This map shows the boundaries of the new districts, but not the locations of the polling places.
Description: Street map of Hartford, Connecticut, from the town lines of Bloomfield and Windsor to the north, the Connecticut River to the east, the town lines of Newington and Wethersfield to the south, and the town line of West Hartford to the west. The city is divided into 23 voting districts and two senatorial districts.
Cartographic Note: No scale
Inscription: Recto, right side, printed in black ink: "1982 / VOTING DISTRICTS / CITY OF HARTFORD / ASSEMBLY DISTRICTS consisting of VOTING DISTRICTS / I 1,2 / II 3, 4, 5, 6 / III 7, 8, 9 / IV 10, 11, 12, 13 / V 14, 15, 16, 17 / VI 18, 19, 20 / VII 21, 22, 23 / SENATORIAL DISTRICTS consisting of VOTING DISTRICTS / I 5 THRU 18 / II I THRU 4 / 19 THRU 23" Bottom right, printed in black ink: "Prepared by / The REGISTRARS of VOTERS"
Object Number: 2012.312.166
Not Currently on View
Send to a Friend